Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Do condoms cause rape and mayhem? The long-term effects of condoms in New South Wales' prisons
  1. Lorraine Yap (l.yap{at}unsw.edu.au)
  1. National Centre in HIV Social Research, Australia
    1. Tony Butler (tony.butler{at}justicehealth.nsw.gov.au)
    1. Centre for Health Research in Criminal Justice, Australia
      1. Juliet Richters (j.richters{at}unsw.edu.au)
      1. National Centre in HIV Social Research, Australia
        1. Kristie Kirkwood (kristie.kirkwood{at}justicehealth.nsw.gov.au)
        1. Centre for Health Research in Criminal Justice, Australia
          1. Luke Grant (luke.grant{at}dcs.nsw.gov.au)
          1. NSW Department of Corrective Services, Australia
            1. Max Saxby (max.saxby{at}dcs.nsw.gov.au)
            1. NSW Department of Corrective Services, Australia
              1. Frederick Ropp (frederick.ropp{at}dcs.nsw.gov.au)
              1. NSW Department of Corrective Services, Australia
                1. Basil Donovan (donovanb{at}sesahs.nsw.gov.au)
                1. Sydney Sexual Health Centre; and National Centre in HIV Epidemiology and Clinical Research, Australia

                  Abstract

                  Objective: Concerns raised by opponents to condom provision in prisons have not been objectively examined and the issue continues to be debated. We examined the long-term effects of the introduction of condoms and dental dams into New South Wales (NSW) prisons in 1996, focusing on particular concerns raised by politicians, prison officers, prison nurses, and prisoners. These groups were worried that: (a) condoms would encourage prisoners to have sex, (b) condoms would lead to an increase in sexual assaults in prisons, (c) prisoners would use condoms to hide and store drugs and other contraband, and (d) prisoners would use condoms as weapons.

                  Method: Data sources included the NSW Inmate Health Surveys in 1996 and 2001 and official reports from the NSW Department of Corrective Services. The 1996 IHS involved 657 men and 132 women randomly selected from all prisons with a 90% response rate. The 2001 survey involved 747 men and 167 women inmates with an 85% response rate.

                  Results: There was a decrease in reports of both consensual male-to-male sex and male sexual assaults 5 years after the introduction of condoms into prisons in 1996. Condoms were often used for concealing contraband items and other purposes but this was not associated with an increase in drug injecting in prison. Only three incidents of a condom being used in assaults on prison officers were recorded between 1996 and 2005; none were serious.

                  Conclusions: We found no evidence of serious adverse consequences of distributing condoms and dental dams to prisoners in NSW. Condoms are an important public health measure in the fight against HIV and sexually transmitted diseases; they should be made freely available to prisoners as they are to other high- risk groups in the community.

                  • Australia
                  • condoms
                  • dental dams
                  • evaluation
                  • prisons

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.