Article Text

other Versions

PDF
"There is such a thing as asking for trouble": Taking rapid HIV testing to gay venues is fraught with challenges
  1. Audrey Prost (aprost{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
  1. Medical Research Council Social & Public Health Unit, United Kingdom
    1. Mathias Chopin (mchopin{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
    1. Centre for Sexual Health & HIV Research, UCL, United Kingdom
      1. Alan McOwan
      1. 3. The Victoria Clinic for Sexual Health, United Kingdom
        1. Gillian Elam (gelam{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
        1. Health Protection Agency, United Kingdom
          1. Julie Dodds (jdodds{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
          1. Centre for Sexual Health & HIV Research, United Kingdom
            1. Neil Macdonald (n.macdonald{at}imperial.ac.uk)
            1. Imperial College, United Kingdom
              1. John Imrie (jimrie{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
              1. Centre for Sexual Health & HIV Research, United Kingdom

                Abstract

                Objectives: To explore the feasibility and acceptability of offering rapid HIV testing to men who have sex with men in gay social venues.

                Methods: Qualitative study with depth interviews and focus group discussions. Interview transcripts were analysed for recurrent themes. A total of twenty-four respondents participated in the study. Six gay venue owners, four gay service users, and one service provider took part in depth interviews. Focus groups were conducted with eight members of a rapid HIV testing clinic staff and five positive gay men.

                Results: Respondents had strong concerns about confidentiality and privacy, and many felt that HIV testing was 'too serious' an event to be undertaken in social venues. The majority also voiced concerns about issues relating to post-test support and behaviour, and clinical standards. Venue owners also discussed the potential negative impact of HIV testing on social venues.

                Conclusion: There are currently substantial barriers to offering rapid HIV tests to MSM in social venues. Further work to enhance acceptability must consider ways of increasing the confidentiality and professionalism of testing services, designing appropriate pre and post-discussion protocols, evaluating different models of service delivery, and considering their cost-effectiveness in relation to existing services.

                • HIV testing
                • HIV/AIDS
                • MSM
                • health services
                • qualitative study

                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                Request permissions

                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.