Article Text

other Versions

PDF
A study on HIV and HCV among commercial sex workers in Tallinn
  1. Anneli Uusküla (anneli.uuskula{at}ut.ee)
  1. University of Tartu, Estonia
    1. Krista Fischer (krista.fischer{at}ut.ee)
    1. Department of Health, University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia, Estonia
      1. Riina Raudne (riina.raudne{at}gmail.com)
      1. National Institute for Health Development, Tallinn, Estonia, Estonia
        1. Helle Kilgi (helle.kilgi{at}ut.ee)
        1. Department of mathematical statistics, University of Tartu, Tartu, Estonia, Estonia
          1. Roman Krylov (roman.krylov{at}gmail.com)
          1. NGO Atoll, Tallinn, Estonia, Estonia
            1. Mika Salminen (mika.salminen{at}ktl.fi)
            1. Department of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, National Public Health Institute, Helsinki, Finland, Finland
              1. Henrikki Brummer-Korvenkontio (henrikki.brummer{at}ktl.fi)
              1. Department of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, National Public Health Institute, Helsinki, Finland, Finland
                1. Janet St. Lawrence (soa1{at}cdc.gov)
                1. Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases, CDC, Atlanta, GA, USA, United States
                  1. Sevgi Aral (soa1{at}cdc.gov)
                  1. Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases, CDC, Atlanta, GA, USA, United States

                    Abstract

                    Estonia is confronted by a dramatic expansion of the initially injection drug use driven HIV epidemic. Little is known on HIV occurrence in population groups at high risk other than injection drug users.

                    Objective: to obtain data on the prevalence of HIV and HCV among female sex workers (FSW) in Tallinn. Design: an unlinked, anonymous, cross sectional survey of female sex workers recruited in Tallinn from October 2005 to May 2006.

                    Methods: FSW (N=227) were recruited for the survey and biological sample collection (HIV, HCV antibodies detection) using a combination of time-location, community and respondent driven sampling.

                    Results: Among 227 women the HIV and HCV prevalences were 7.6% (95% CI 4.6-12.5%) and 7.9% (95% CI 4.5-12.6%), accordingly. HIV prevalence was higher among FSW working in the street (OR=6.4; 95% CI 1.1-35.6) and at the brothels, apartments supervised by organised sex industry (OR=5.0; 95% CI 1.3-18.4). The duration of sex work was negatively associated with HIV prevalence (OR= 0.78; 95% CI 0.63-0.97).

                    Conclusions: Prevention needs of FSWs in this area include increasing rates of HIV-testing and putting in place effective programs that can help extend HIV prevention behaviors across a range of sexual and drug use risk behaviors.

                    • Estonia
                    • HCV
                    • HIV
                    • sex work

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                    Linked Articles

                    • Brief encounters
                      Helen Ward Rob Miller