Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Will I, won’t I? Why do MSM present for PEPSE? Sayer C, Fisher M , Nixon E, Nambiar K, Richardson D, Perry N, Llewellyn C
  1. Charlie Sayer (charlie.sayer{at}bsuh.nhs.uk)
  1. Brighton and Sussex Medical School, United Kingdom
    1. Martin Fisher (martin.fisher{at}bsuh.nhs.uk)
    1. Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust, United Kingdom
      1. Eileen Nixon (eileen.nixon{at}bsuh.nhs.uk)
      1. Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust, United Kingdom
        1. Kate Nambiar (kate.nambiar{at}bsuh.nhs.uk)
        1. Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust, United Kingdom
          1. Daniel Richardson (daniel.richardson{at}bsuh.nhs.uk)
          1. Royal Sussex County Hospital, United Kingdom
            1. Nicky Perry (nicky.perry{at}bsuh.nhs.uk)
            1. Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust, United Kingdom
              1. Carrie Llewellyn (c.d.llewellyn{at}bsms.ac.uk)
              1. Brighton and Sussex Medical School, United Kingdom

                Abstract

                Background: Failures of post exposure prophylaxis following sexual exposure (PEPSE) to prevent sero-conversion have been reported and are often associated with ongoing risk exposure. Understanding why men who have sex with men (MSM) access PEPSE on some occasions and not others may lead to more effective health promotion and disease prevention strategies.

                Methods: A qualitative study design using semi-structured interviews of 15 MSM within 6 months of initiating PEPSE treatment at an HIV outpatient service in Brighton, UK.

                Results: PEPSE seeking was motivated by a number of factors: An episode which related to a particular sexual partner and their behaviour; the characteristics of the venue where the risk occurred; the respondent’s state of mind and influences of alcohol and recreational drug use; and their perceived beliefs on the effectiveness of PEPSE. Help was sought in the light of a ‘one off’ or ‘unusual’ event. Many respondents felt they were less likely to behave in a risky manner following PEPSE.

                Conclusion: If PEPSE is to be effective as a public health measure, at risk individuals need to be empowered to make improved risk calculations from an increased perception that they could be exposed to HIV if they continue their current behaviour patterns. The concern is that PEPSE was sought by a low number of MSM implying that a greater number are not utilising the service based on failure to make accurate risk calculations or recognise high-risk scenarios.

                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                Request permissions

                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.