Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Assessment of a real-time PCR test to diagnose syphilis from diverse biological samples
  1. Angele Gayet-Ageron (angele.gayet-ageron{at}hcuge.ch)
  1. Geneva University Hospital, Switzerland
    1. Beatrice Ninet (beatrice.ninet{at}hcuge.ch)
    1. Geneva University Hospital, Switzerland
      1. Laurence Toutous-Trellu (laurence.trellu{at}hcuge.ch)
      1. Geneva University Hospital, Switzerland
        1. Stephan Lautenschlager (stephan.lautenschlager{at}triemli.stzh.ch)
        1. Outpatient clinic for Dermatology and Venereology Triemli, Switzerland
          1. Hansjakob Furrer (hansjakob.furrer{at}insel.ch)
          1. Bern University Hospital, Switzerland
            1. Vincent Piguet (vincent.piguet{at}hcuge.ch)
            1. Geneva University Hospital, Switzerland
              1. Jacques Schrenzel (jacques.schrenzel{at}hcuge.ch)
              1. Geneva University Hospital, Switzerland
                1. Bernard Hirschel (bernard.hirschel{at}hcuge.ch)
                1. Geneva University Hospital, Switzerland

                  Abstract

                  Objectives: To investigate the contribution of a real-time polymerase chain reaction (PCR) assay for the detection of Treponema pallidum in various biological specimens with the secondary objective to compare its value according to HIV status.

                  Methods: Prospective cohort of incident syphilis cases from three Swiss hospitals (Geneva and Bern University Hospitals, Outpatient Clinic for Dermatology of Triemli, Zurich) diagnosed between January 2006 and September 2008. A case-control study was nested into the cohort. Biological specimens (blood, lesion swab or urine) were taken at diagnosis (as clinical information) and analyzed by real-time PCR using the T pallidum 47kDa gene.

                  Results: 126 specimens were collected from 74 patients with primary (n=26), secondary (n=40) and latent syphilis (n=8). Among primary syphilis, sensitivity was 80% in lesion swabs, 28% in whole blood, 55% in serum, and 29% in urine, while among secondary syphilis, it was 20%, 36%, 47% and 44%, respectively. Among secondary syphilis, plasma and cerebrospinal fluid were also tested and provided a sensitivity of 100% and 50%, respectively. Global sensitivity of T pallidumby PCR (irrespective of the compartment tested) was 65% during primary, 53% during secondary, and null during latent syphilis. No difference regarding serology or PCR results was observed among HIV-infected patients. Specificity was 100%.

                  Conclusions: Syphilis PCR provides better sensitivity in lesion swabs from primary syphilis and displays only moderate sensitivity in blood from primary and secondary syphilis. HIV status did not modify the internal validity of PCR for the diagnosis of primary or secondary syphilis.

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                  Linked Articles

                  • Brief encounters
                    Helen Ward Rob Miller