Article Text

other Versions

PDF
STI risk exposure among black and minority ethnic youth in Northwest London: findings from a study translating an STI risk-reduction intervention to the UK setting.
  1. Makeda Gerressu (mgerressu{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
  1. University College London, United Kingdom
    1. Gillian Elam (gillian{at}qualitativeresearch.co.uk)
    1. University College London, United Kingdom
      1. Rochelle Shain (shain{at}uthscsa.edu)
      1. University of Texas Health Science Centre at San Antonio, United States
        1. Chris Bonell (chris.bonell{at}lshtm.ac.uk)
        1. London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom
          1. Gary Brook (gary.brook{at}nwlh.nhs.uk)
          1. Central Middlesex Hospital, United Kingdom
            1. Jane Dimmitt Champion (dimmitt{at}uthscsa.edu)
            1. University of Texas Health Science Centre at San Antonio, United States
              1. Rebecca French (rfrench{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
              1. University College London, United Kingdom
                1. Jonathan Elford (j.elford{at}city.ac.uk)
                1. City University London, United Kingdom
                  1. Graham Hart (ghart{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
                  1. University College London, United Kingdom
                    1. Judith Stephenson (jstephen{at}gum.ucl.ac.uk)
                    1. University College London, United Kingdom
                      1. John Imrie (j.imrie{at}unsw.edu.au)
                      1. University of New South Wales and University of KwaZulu-Natal, Australia

                        Abstract

                        Objectives: Young black women are disproportionately affected by sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in the UK, but effective interventions to address this are lacking. The Young Brent Project explored the nature and context of sexual risk-taking in young people to inform the translation of an effective clinic-based STI reduction intervention (Project SAFE) from the US to the UK.

                        Methods: One-to-one in-depth interviews (n=37) and focus groups (n=10) were conducted among men and women aged 15 to 27 from different ethnic backgrounds recruited from youth and genito-urinary medicine clinic settings in Brent, London. The interviews explored the context within which STI-related risks were assessed, experienced and avoided; the skills needed to recognise risk; and the barriers to behaviour change.

                        Results: Concurrent sexual partnerships, mismatched perceptions and expectations, and barriers to condom use contributed to STI risk exposure and difficulties in implementing risk reduction strategies. Women attempted to achieve monogamy, but experienced complex and fluid sexual relationships. Low risk awareness, flawed partner risk assessments, negative perceptions of condoms and lack of control hindered condom use. While men made conscious decisions, women experienced persuasion, deceit and difficulty in requesting condom use, particularly with older partners.

                        Conclusions: Knowledge of STIs and condom use skills are not enough to equip young people with the means to reduce STI risk. Interventions with young women need to place greater emphasis on: entering and maintaining healthy relationships; awareness of risks attached to different forms of concurrency and how concurrency arises; skills to redress power imbalances; and building self-esteem.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.